Morrison Bowmore adds to award winning year

Whisky Drinker Lowland, Trade News Leave a Comment

Auchentoshan Three Wood

Auchentoshan Three Wood

Morrison Bowmore Distillers has added a further Gold medal to their extensive collection of awards for their whisky range this year.

The Glasgow-based company is the producer of four major brands of Single Malt Scotch Whiskies – Auchentoshan, Bowmore, Glen Garioch and McClelland’s – and possesses over 200 years of whisky making experience combined.

Their Auchentoshan Three Wood has collected a Gold medal at the recent International Wine and Spirits Competition (IWSC), while the Bowmore 15 Years Old ‘Darkest’ and Glen Garioch 12 Years Old both collected ‘Silver Outstanding’ awards.

The Judges tasting notes described the Three Wood as: “Attractive, sweet tobacco with dried apricot, chocolate, licorice, ginger and light smoke. Hints of stewed plums and vanilla. Lots of ripe fruit comes in a second wave with melon and lychee. Toasty, sweet oak. Soft and delicate through the mouth with spicy oak and cloves in the fine finish.”

These awards add to those picked up at the World Whiskies Awards (including the Best Islay and Best Lowland titles), San Francisco World Spirits, The Spirits Business Scotch Whisky Masters,’
Ultimate Spirits Challenge and Ultimate Cocktail Challenge.

Mike Keiller, CEO, Morrison Bowmore Distillers, said in apress release: “We’re delighted to have received these awards and proud that the fruits of our labour have been internationally recognised. We’re a small company, with a dedicated team who give our all to realise our vision of being the Single Malt specialist. As anyone in the industry will understand, Single Malt production requires care and patience, and the investment we’re putting in is reaping its rewards.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *